OFFICERS 2010-2012

GAIL L. PELLERIN PRESIDENT Santa Cruz County CATHY DARLING ALLEN VICE PRESIDENT Shasta County NEAL KELLEY TREASURER Orange County DEAN LOGAN SECRETARY Los Angeles County

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

APPOINTED:

GINA ALCOMENDRAS Santa Clara County JANICE ATKINSON Sonoma County TESS FITZGERALD Santa Cruz County SACHI HAMAI Los Angeles County JOSEPH HOLLAND Santa Barbara County JIM MC CAULEY Placer County KATHIE MORAN Colusa County SUSAN M. RANOCHAK Mendocino County JULIE RODEWALD San Luis Obispo County DEBORAH SEILER San Diego County DAWN ABRAHAMSON* Fremont City Clerk non-voting member ADVISORY COUNCIL: STEVE WEIR Contra Costa County REBECCA MARTINEZ Madera County ELECTED AREA CHAIRS: JULIE BUSTAMANTE Northern Area Lassen County KARI VERJIL Southern Area **Riverside County** JILLIAVINE Mother Lode Area Sacramento County AUSTIN G. ERDMAN Central Area San Joaquin County LINDSEY MC WILLIAMS

LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES

CLERK OF THE BOARD: SACHI A. HAMAI Los Angeles County JOHN MCKIBBEN Los Angeles County

COUNTY CLERK:

Bay Area Solano County

KATHIE MORAN Colusa County VICKI PETERSEN Sonoma County

ELECTIONS:

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County

DEBORAH SEILER San Diego County



CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

GAIL L. PELLERIN, PRESIDENT Santa Cruz County Clerk 701 Ocean St., Room 210, CA 95060 831-454-2419 * Fax 831-454-2445 * Cell 408-316-9745 E-Mail: gail.pellerin@co.santa-cruz.ca.us Website: www.caceo58.org

February 15, 2012

Assembly Member Fiona Ma, Author P.O. Box 942849 Sacramento, CA 94249-0012

RE: AB 1200 Elections: Central Committees - SUPPORT

Dear Assembly Member Ma:

The California Association of Clerks and Election Officials Elections Legislative Committee is pleased to convey **Support** of **AB 1200** (as Amended February 6, 2012). This urgent legislation contains essential technical amendments to the California Elections Code relating to the conduct of county central committee elections for the 2012 Presidential Primary Election, taking place in approximately 110-days.

AB 1200 specifically addresses central committee issues in the City and County of San Francisco, and the Counties of Sacramento and Alameda following the 2011 redistricting process. The bill also reduces the ad ministerial and costs associated with the current duties of local county election officials. More specifically, AB 1200:

- · Eliminates the requirement to administer the oath of office
- Eliminates the requirement to provide certificates of election to each member
- Eliminates the role of election officials in calling and providing space for the American Independent Party's county central committee meetings
- Eliminates the requirement for election officials to notify the Secretary of State's Office when new party chairs are elected
- Eliminates the 20-day waiting period and the filing of a petition, signed by at least 25 voters, indicating that a write-in campaign for central committee will occur where there are insufficient nominees.

If you or your staff has any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at the Monterey County Elections Department at (831) 796-1499.

Very truly yours,

Linda Tulett Correspondence Secretary California Association of Clerks and Election Officials

c: Honorable Paul Fong, Chair, Assembly Committee on Elections and Redistricting Honorable Lou Correa, Chair, Senate Committee on Elections and Constitutional Amendments Deborah Seiler, Co-Chair, CACEO Elections Legislative Committee Jill Lavine, Co-Chair, CACEO Elections Legislative Committee Barry Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates